top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah

Joker

While seeing Joker front row in the cinema with an aching neck due to looking up the entire time is not ideal, it fully immersed me into the world of Gotham and the insane life of the Joker.

If you are not in a good place mentally, I probably would not go see this film because while it is incredibly popular at the moment, it is very heavy. As a whole though, this movie is exhilarating with dark twists and turns at every corner and Joaquin Phoenix's unbelievable performance (which deserves major praise.) He fully embodied the Joker and brought something unique to this complex character. Todd Phillips did an absolutely incredible job directing this film. Every choice he made took the audience on a ride that forced you to feel a little sympathetic for this awful character. The color scheme of this film stayed solid throughout which led to a dark vibe and completed the Joker's aesthetic. There are also a lot of scenes with stairs in them, which may or may not be symbolic? I'm not sure, but now that I've said it you will definitely notice when you see this film. That being said, the scene of the Joker dancing down the stairs is iconic! There are many jump scares in this movie (more than any other movie I've seen this year), granted I was front row so the sound was right in my ears and vibrated through my seat. There are also quite a few moments that will leave you in shock saying "did that just happen?!" While there has been controversy surrounding this film because of the message it sends in our current political climate, I do believe that it is an award worthy movie that deserves praise for the work done by the cast and crew. However, I do agree that it is a little sad that this movie was released given the numerous gun violence incidents that have resulted from certain mindsets, especially the shooting in Aurora, Colorado. This movie is quite stressful in that regard, but from a film lover's perspective I think that it is an incredible film, but not necessarily a great message. I definitely recommend going to see it though because it is one that people will be talking about for a long time!


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sound of Metal and One Night in Miami

While the Oscars are going to be a little bit later this year than normal, the possible contenders are more widely available to watch now more than ever. The two contenders I watched recently, Sound o

1917

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page