top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah

1917

Last night I finally got the chance to see 1917! I honestly did not have too many expectations going into the movie, but knew that since it had already won a Golden Globe and a BAFTA, it had to be something special. I had also seen clips and posts online about it being one long shot and I truthfully did not know how I would feel about that. I am happy to report that not only did this film live up to its recognition, it far exceeded all of my expectations. I highly recommend catching 1917 while it is still in theaters, because even though I'm sure it is still just as enjoyable at home in your living room, this is one of those movies that deserves to be seen in theaters. The experience of seeing this on a big-screen was other-worldly as it felt like I was in the trenches with them, which made me connect with and feel deeply for these characters. There was not one moment of this film where I wasn't tense and sitting on the edge of my seat. It truly felt like something could happen at any moment especially with the genius score that enhanced every minute of the film. Sam Mendes's directing is truly next level and deserves every ounce of acknowledgement, as I'm sure making it look like one long take especially with all of the other difficult factors of creating a war movie added in, was not an easy feat. The cinematography was brilliant and turned every instant of this nerve-wracking war tale into something shockingly stunning and visually pleasing to the viewer. I definitely would not be surprised if this ends up taking the Oscar for Best Picture home this weekend. 1917 is undeniably one of the best films of 2019. You do not want to miss checking this film out while it is still in theaters!


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sound of Metal and One Night in Miami

While the Oscars are going to be a little bit later this year than normal, the possible contenders are more widely available to watch now more than ever. The two contenders I watched recently, Sound o

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page